An everlasting breath

par Jullian Angel

I have grown a skinny chest,
Till my bones are making flesh.
And the one that was deadly tied,
Is nevermore afraid.

There, I knew my fate was sealed,
When I saw my brothers killed.
Yet the force of my hope was tried,
And soon will raise the dead.
Soon, I’ll raise the dead.

I’ve been crying for a choice.
Did you hear that broken voice,
While they hurt my unruly spine ?
I prayed it was the end.

And I’d lost my dignity,
But I still had a destiny.
On my own, would I cross the line,
And soon I’ll wake the dead.
Yes, soon I’ll raise the dead.

I hear the ones who’ve fallen,
Telling me the world’s forgiven.
And I still wonder why it should ever be.

So, your angels never came
For the numbers without names.
Now, they’re drawing all through my lungs
An everlasting breath.

And the times may hear us call.
The jailor will not break his fall,
When the freedom that we had sung
Finally takes the head.

And then, I’ll raise the dead.

I hear the ones who’ve fallen,
Telling me the world’s forgiven.
And I still wonder why it should ever be.

(subtitles for a piece of music that you may hear on this page)

DSC_0093